Prompts · Writing

Beautiful People

I am back with another Beautiful People thing..? I honestly have no idea what to call it so it is a thing for now.  I am doing this instead of a review because when I am writing this I haven’t gotten far enough into the book for a post to come out on time. So instead of making you wait I figure I can do this instead. So here we go:

  1. How do you decide which project to work on?                                                                      Generally I just work on whatever needs finishing ie. my current project. But if I have nothing to finish then I will go for whatever I think can hold my attention for the longest. Currently I am in year 2 with this current book, so clearly it has held my attention – I think this is the fourth re-write… But at least I am successful this time around! I am so close to the end I can taste it!
  2. How long does it usually take you to finish a project?                                                          At least a year. I go through different variations and realise that the one I think will work just wont. I’ll go through a stage of cutting characters, changing them, adding some more in until I have the right mix – usually with one who stays the same with the others changing around them. And then I will work on altering the plot and the setting and the time etc etc, until I have the perfect combination of everything. And by that time I usually have enough for a whole novel in different attempts… But it’s fine because at least I have had lots of practice writing my characters which makes the actual novel writing easy and relatively painless.
  3. Do you have any routines to put you in the writing mood?                                                 I don’t. The main way I can put myself in the writing mood is by actually writing. Sometimes looking at inspiration or thinking about my project will make me want to but that’s pretty unreliable so generally just actually writing is the best way to do it. I search for the right music, open pinterest and then open up scrivener and start writing. I’m glad that I don’t have routines because at least I don’t have to rely on something to put me in the mood which could become inconvenient if one of the steps becomes impossible.
  4. What time of day do you write best?                                                                                        In the evening/night. I can write at pretty much anytime of day but for some reason I am most productive then. Maybe writing is my brain’s way of winding down and getting ready for bed? But then again, I’m also much more generally productive in the evenings. It’s probably because the stress of the day ending and the fact that I’ve done nothing yet is kicking in. Who knows though?
  5. Are there any authors you think you have a similar style to?                                             I honestly have no idea. I think that once I have written a couple more books and have edited them, then I will have a better sense of my style. I will be able to answer this question then. Give me like 5 years and I’ll get back to you.
  6. Why did you start writing, and why do you keep writing?                                                  I have always written. Right from the moment I could hold a pencil I have written stories – there’s one called The Table and Chairs (and it’s quite dramatic) that I wrote when I was probably about 6 or 7 that I wrote a sequel too.  Sadly I lost it, but if I ever find it I will probably type it up so I can see how much I have improved in 10 years. I keep writing because writing is like breathing to me. I need it to live. It keeps me in a place where my depression isn’t bad and my anxiety is bearable so I don’t see the point in not writing. It makes me who I am. Without writing I wouldn’t be the person I am today and I’m not sure that I would like that person. Also, the less deep answer, I want to be a published author someday I you can’t do that without actually writing so I might aswell get a head start and write whenever I can.
  7. What’s the hardest thing you’ve written?                                                                                The hardest project is probably the one that I’m currently working on. It has taken a lot emotionally to realise that I can’t quite crack it and have therefore re-written it 3 times. I think that the fourth time’s the charm as I have the most words for this version and it has been the easiest to write. I have also come across topics and themes that have made me either uncomfortable to write about or have made me think and reconsider some of the things I thought I knew about myself. But that’s writing isn’t it? I assume it’s like childbirth – awful while it’s happening but once it’s over you want to do it again. With less physical pain, obviously.
  8. Is there a project you want to tackle someday but you don’t feel ready yet?                  I have quite a few projects running around my mind that are just concepts. Some have characters, some don’t. But I’m not ready. One, because I need to finish this first. Two, one of them is set in the same world just a few years after this story is over and I need to write the second book of this current project first (see one). And Three, the concept hasn’t quite come together properly yet meaning that I can’t write it because I don’t know enough. Or I’ve lost the written notes I made meaning that I have nothing to write about…
  9. What writing goals did you make for 2017 and how are they going?                                My writing goals were to finish The Feather Queen and to edit it at least twice and so far I have almost finished it. Yay! I’m behind! I was aiming to have it finished back at the end of March or April but that obviously didn’t happen so now we’re here. But it’s fine. I should finish it within the next couple of weeks so that’s always a plus.
  10. Describe your writing process in 3 words or a gif! gif of the actor who plays hawkeye - internally screaming

 

Go hit up Paper Fury for more of the Beautiful Books and People  questions! I hope you enjoyed reading my answers! Also yes, I know I’m a ridiculously slow writer and that I’ll never get published unless I speed things up a bit but I have a few years until I plan on sending my book off to agents/publishers. In the meantime I am just going to keep plodding along and trying to finish as many as I can. That is the only thing I can do. I also might enter a couple of competitions whilst I’m at it. Cause y’know, why the hell not.

Chloe

Leave a Reply

